Cafe la Gaffe
       
Page Viewed: 917 times

Cafe la Gaffe

6.0
Based on 5 reviews


24 Baldwin St.
Toronto

Tel: 416.596.2397

Categories:
Cafe / Coffee Shop








    
 

Reviews

User Review Rating
Brat
2011-Aug-05
00:02:39


Contribution Status:

Newbie (1.00)

was sent away
Awhile ago I went th La Gaffe, taking my family including parents, sister and her son there for dinner. We were sent away! The waiter said the place was booked up, but the place was empty! I was humiliated, and felt we were sent away because I DUNNO WE ARE BROWN!
-- Brat
Won't
Visit
Again
Comments (0) ... 
     

User Review Rating
anonymous user
2005-Aug-07
00:00:00


Where Is the Chef?
As always the front patio looking onto Baldwin is lovely and service was pleasant and competent but the food was badly executed. We suspect that chef left the kitchen to trainees with litle experience.

We tried the calamari - although not tough the grill marks and flavour suggested over cooking. The dish was over spiced and the presentation was poor. The salad did not work with the dish and there was a mushy mixture of capers and salsa plopped in the middle - most unappetizing. The seafood rissotto was mediocre. The white wine was not properly chilled and no ice bucket was provided.

For the first time I noticed how uncomfortable the chairs are. We will probably not return to what was a favourite spot.
Comments (0) ... 
     

User Review Rating
anonymous user
2005-May-25
00:00:00


Excellent Service, Romantic Ambiance
My wife and I were in Toronto for the evening. I called a buddy of mine for a dinner recommendation. Flat out, he recommended Cafe La Gaffe. We had a wonderful time. The character of Baldwin Street, the atmosphere of La Gaffe, and the delicious food all made for a great evening.
Comments (0) ... 
     

User Review Rating
anonymous user
2004-Nov-10
00:00:00


Best Food in Toronto
Sorry for the experience of the group of women, but Cafe La Gaffe is my sister's favourite restaurant and we have recommended it to many many people. The food is phenomenal - we have never been disappointed. It is just delicious. And the atmosphere is wonderful.
Comments (0) ... 
     

User Review Rating
anonymous user
2004-Sep-23
00:00:00


Rude Service
We were 5 professional women, wanting to go to Cafe La Gaffe for desserts and drinks at about 8:30pm. We informed our waitress of this immediately, and told this was no problem.

After we ordered we were told that we would be receiving our bill immediately after the food arrived because they didn't want us taking up a table. There were still empty tables around and no one was waiting in line. We were astounded by their rudeness, and offered to leave, to which they accepted quite happily without offering any apologies.

I will never go back, and neither will any of my colleagues. I feel much of their arrogance was predicated by the fact that we were young females of various ethnic origins.
Comments (0) ... 
     



    
 

















Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review / Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor Restaurant